My First Blog !!


I never had the thought for blogging as it was not the in thing yet for me; but I guess my first blog had to be inspired by Big B and a trip to the hills just like him!! Thanks Bachchan ji for writing your own blogs!! When he can do it..why not me…the great Sharmaji of all people! I did have a knack of writing though and have maintained a hard copy blog several times in my life;which were momentarily inspired by one thing or the other – the most prominent one being the one diary which I kept regularly for an year during my stint in the IAF ( which I guess I will convert to one of the blog topics later) !!

This visit to the hills of Kasauli came as a part of the visit to my sister’s sasural in Panchkula. My bro-in-law loves the hills and loves to make his cars (brand new Innova and Swift) slog!! So here it was ….two days of the weekend for a short vacation and a run uphill.

Kasauli is a small cantonment town in Solan district in the Indian state of  Himachal Pradesh. The town is the home of the Kasauli Brewery, which is the highest brewery and distillery in the world.

The cantonment was established in 1842 by the British colonial rulers as a hill station. Located 77 km from Shimla, 65 km from Chandigarh and 50 km from Panchkula, it still retains the old world charms and is a throwback to the past.

The population of Kasauli is no more than 5000 and it provides for great walk ways for the ones who love to walk amidst clouds and the whispering pines !

Some people say that you may end up walking miles without running into other people !

Our first stop was at a Hot Millions joint at Dharampur for a quick bite , which turned out to be a fiasco as the waiter ended up with the wrong order. My bro-in-law could tolerate this and then the lunch ended at an old Dhaba on the opposite side of the road.

Many winding kilometers up, we stopped at the Himachal Tourism run hotel for a cup of tea and snacks…the kids had their share of fun too on the swings and slide there.

There was not much that we could have done…as the kids required full time attention..so we just stayed put at Ros Common and enjoyed the evening among other visitors, with the clouds playing up and down the slope.

We went ahead though to try and slip through to Manki Point, but could not go past the security gate. Legend has it that Kasauli came into being when Lord Hanuman, on his way to getting the Sanjeevani herb, stepped here for jumping on to the Sanjeevani hill.

At Kasauli there is a Hanuman Mandir atop the 300m high hillock, called Monkey Point (locals call it Manki Point), where Lord Hanuman is supposed to have rested his feet. This temple lies within the confines of an Air Force Radar Station and Base and is subject to security restrictions (no cameras or bags allowed). We reached after the time restriction..so could not go in…may be next time.

So began the trip back home and many a clicks later found one more photo to share here. That of the Christ Church.

It seemed to be historical, but somehow, this trip was only to help me start my blogworld. Someday I will be back here for a history lesson.

This is the place Ruskin Bond was born, Khuswant Singh stays (sometimes!) and the famous Sanawar School (Sanjay Dutt’s alma Mater).

I gotta be here again !

Till Then Au revoir !!

Leave a Reply

